Oftentimes, people do not realize just how much is at stake when they receive a traffic ticket. Unfortunately, traffic tickets can have far-reaching implications that can impact an individual for years, which is why our Chesapeake traffic ticket lawyer is here to analyze each aspect of your case and determine the best path going forward in an effort to have your ticket significantly mitigated or dropped altogether. Contact Patzig Law today to learn more about how our legal team can assist you.
Do I Need a Chesapeake Traffic Ticket Lawyer?
The majority of people receive at least one traffic ticket in their lifetime, and if you are currently facing one, you are most likely wondering whether it is truly necessary to hire a Chesapeake traffic ticket lawyer. The answer is an overwhelming yes. You have a lot to lose, and our firm is here to fight for you.
Potential Penalties for Speeding Tickets in Virginia
In most cases, a speeding ticket in Virginia costs $200, as well as $6 for every mile per hour traveled over the speed limit. For example, if you were caught going 40 mph in a 30 mph zone, you will most likely receive a $260 fine. That being said, you should understand that certain circumstances may warrant higher fines, such as if you were caught speeding in a work zone or in a residential area. Additionally, if you are caught speeding on a highway, you may face a potential $500 fine.
You should also know that each time you are found guilty of speeding, you will accrue demerit points on your license. If you accumulate either 12 demerits with 12 months or 24 demerits within 18 months, you will most likely go on a probationary period. At this point, if you receive any additional demerits within six months, you will have your license suspended. As you can imagine, a license suspension can have a drastic effect on your life, which is why it is always best to have an experienced Chesapeake traffic ticket lawyer on your side.
Potential Penalties for Texting While Driving in Virginia
As you know, it is illegal and unsafe to text while driving. Unfortunately, this does not stop everyone from doing it. That being said, if you recently received a texting while driving ticket, you should understand that you are looking at a $125 fine for a first offense and a $250 fine for a second or subsequent offense. In most cases, a texting while driving violation results in three demerit points.
You should also note that if a commercial vehicle driver is caught texting while driving, he or she may face up to $2,750 in fines. Anyone under the age of 18 who is caught texting while driving will most likely face a $250 fine, and any subsequent violation may result in a license suspension.
Potential Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Reckless driving in Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor charge, and if you are convicted of reckless driving, you can expect to face a potential $2,500 fine and up to 12 months in jail. Further, you will obtain a criminal record, as reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor. Finally, you will also accrue demerit points on your license, which may result in a license suspension, depending on how many existing demerits you have on your record.
Contact a Chesapeake Traffic Ticket Lawyer
The bottom line is that if you’ve recently received a traffic ticket in Virginia, you need an experienced Chesapeake traffic ticket lawyer on your side. Contact Patzig Law today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.