The Commonwealth of Virginia staunchly supports the Second Amendment, and though the citizens of Virginia have more gun rights than in other states, there are still several gun laws in place, and if you are caught violating them, you should strongly consider speaking with a knowledgeable Chesapeake gun crime lawyer. Contact Patzig Law today to learn more about the gun laws in Virginia and how our experienced legal team can assist you if you’ve been charged with violating them.
Do I Need a Chesapeake Gun Crime Lawyer?
If you’ve recently been charged with a gun crime, you are looking at a wide array of potential penalties that may affect your life for years down the road. Our Chesapeake gun crime lawyer is here to defend you from those charges.
Gun Laws in Virginia
The Virginia state constitutional provision, Article 1, Section 13 states, “That a well regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state, therefore, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed; that standing armies, in time of peace, should be avoided as dangerous to liberty; and that in all cases the military should be under strict subordination to, and governed by, the civil power.”
Therefore, the Commonwealth of Virginia does not require individuals to obtain a permit to purchase, a permit to carry, registration of firearms, or licensing of owners when it comes to rifles and shotguns. The Commonwealth of Virginia also does not require a permit to purchase, registration of firearms, or a licensing of owners for handguns, though it does require a permit to carry.
Additional gun laws in the state of Virginia are as follows:
- It is illegal to sell or give a handgun to anyone under the age of 18 (unless you are a family member).
- Anyone convicted of a felony may not possess, own, or use a firearm.
- Anyone acquitted for a crime by reason of insanity who was placed in a mental institution may not possess or use a firearm.
- Anyone with a protective order placed against them on the grounds of family abuse may not own or use a firearm.
- Though you can carry a handgun openly, in most cases, you cannot carry a handgun concealed in the state of Virginia.
- In most cases, it is considered unlawful to possess a “sawed-off” shotgun.
- It is illegal to discharge a firearm in or across any road.
- If you were caught possessing a firearm while committing a violent felony or drug offense, you may face a 3-year term of incarceration. For a second or subsequent offense, you will face a 5-year term of incarceration.
If you’ve been caught violating any of the aforementioned gun laws, there is a very good chance that you will face several penalties, including jail time, high fines, and you will obtain a criminal record. Our firm is here to defend you from such consequences.
Contact a Chesapeake Gun Crime Lawyer
Our firm has helped countless individuals who’ve been charged with gun crimes over the years, and we are ready to help you as well. Contact Patzig Law today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.