What to Know About the Consequences of Underage DWI in Virginia

Real Solutions To Real Problems

Contact UsClient Portal

What to Know About the Consequences of Underage DWI in Virginia

Virginia takes underage DWI charges very seriously, which is why if you have been charged, you will need a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney from Patzig Law on your side. Our dedicated legal team is prepared to fight for you and your future.

What constitutes a DWI in Virginia?

DWI charges are taken very seriously, and underage DWI charges are even more strict. That is why it is important to have a skilled criminal defense attorney if you have been charged. In Virginia, DWI laws do not allow motorists from driving or operating a motor vehicle:

  • While under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • With a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) higher than .02 but less than .08%.
  • With a blood concentration of .1 milligrams per liter or more of methamphetamine
  • With a blood concentration of .02 milligrams per liter or more of cocaine, or
  • With a blood concentration of .02 milligrams per liter or more of phencyclidine (PCP).

What is the difference between an underage DWI and a regular DWI?

In the state of Virginia, the difference between an underage DWI and a DWI is that an offender can be sentenced to an underage DWI just by evidence that he or she drank any alcohol and operated a motor vehicle. On the other hand, a conviction for a DUI requires proof of actual impairment or a BAC at a level that infers impairment (.08 or higher).

Do not hesitate to reach out to our experienced criminal defense attorneys to discuss the specifics of your case and how our legal team can best help you if you were charged with an underage DWI charge.

What are the penalties for an underage DWI charge in Virginia?

In Virginia, an underage DWI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means that there will be a minimum fine of $500 or a mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service, with a license suspension for one year.

If someone is charged for underage DWI in Virginia, his or her license will be suspended for 7 days if he or she had a BAC higher than .02 or if he refused a breathalyzer test. The administrative suspension period increases to 60 days for a second offense or until the day of trial for a third or subsequent offense.

CONTACT OUR FIRM

Patzig Law is a dedicated Virginia law firm handling a variety of legal matters throughout the Commonwealth. We have significant experience in divorce, alimony, equitable distribution, child custody, and support. If you need an aggressive criminal defense attorney, our lawyers will fight to protect your rights in cases including DUIs, drug crimes, weapons offenses, fraud, theft, and much more. If you need a Chesapeake divorce lawyer to handle any of your family law matters, contact Patzig Law today.

Read Our Recent Blog Posts

Read More