What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia?

Real Solutions To Real Problems

Contact UsClient Portal

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia?

The state of Virginia does not tolerate reckless driving. If you were charged, you will likely face severe life-altering consequences. Reach out to Patzig Law today to gain a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney on your side.

What is reckless driving in Virginia?

In the state of Virginia, reckless driving is described as “the act of operating a motor vehicle in a way that risks the lives or properties of others and yourself.” An individual can be charged for driving recklessly for several reasons including both willful actions and negligent driving. If you were charged with a reckless driving ticket, you will likely face severe consequences.

What are the fines and penalties for reckless driving?

What fine or penalty a driver receives is heavily dependent on what the offense of reckless driving was. In most cases, repeated offenses or other evidence of poor driving history can increase the severity of the penalty. Because the most severe penalties are not always implemented, it is essential to retain the services of a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney to help you reduce the charges. Some of the most severe penalties include:

  • Possible fines of up to $2,500
  • A 6-Point violation cited on your driver’s license
  • License suspension for up to 6 months (for residents of VA)
  • Driving suspension in Virginia for up to 6 months (for out-of-state drivers)

What are some common examples of reckless driving in Virginia?

There are many incidents that can occur on the road and be considered reckless driving. Typically, reckless driving is determined by whether or not it is dangerous to life and property. In addition to driving over 80 mph or 20 mph over the speed limit, some other common examples of reckless driving in Virginia include:

  • Racing
    • Any racing convictions will result in a driver’s license suspension of 6 months to 2 years.
  • Improper passing
    • The only exception is if when permitted by traffic lights or a traffic officer.
  • Stopped school bus
    • Any school bus that is stopped to release passengers, whether transporting students or handicapped adults, cannot be passed. A driver may also not pass an emergency vehicle that is using its lights or signals.
  • Faulty brakes
  • Overloading your vehicle
    • If it obstructs your vision or ability to control your vehicle
  • Failure to properly signal or failing to yield to a vehicle that has the right of way
  • Driving alongside another vehicle

CONTACT OUR FIRM

Patzig Law is a dedicated Virginia law firm handling a variety of legal matters throughout the Commonwealth. We have significant experience in divorce, alimony, equitable distribution, child custody, and support. If you need an aggressive criminal defense attorney, our lawyers will fight to protect your rights in cases including DUIs, drug crimes, weapons offenses, fraud, theft, and much more. If you need a Chesapeake divorce lawyer to handle any of your family law matters, contact Patzig Law today.

Read Our Recent Blog Posts

Read More